I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Labour Welfare Commissionerate of Labour


  • The Commissionerate of Labour as established in the year, 1939 at Shillong. At the establishment stage, the Commissionerate was manned with the Labour Commissioner, One Head Clerk and two Lower Division Asstt. Only three Legislations, i.e The Indian Trade Union Act, 1926. The Trade Dispute Act, 1929 and the Payment of Wages Act, 1936 was started with.

    During the period from 1948 to 1951 three more Legislations were added to the existing list for implementation and enforcement by the Labour Commissionerate. Simultaneously, the strength both in Officers rank and clerical category increased with the increase of work load. There were 21 Officers against 20 clerical staff at the relevant time. But after Independence and with the advent of Industrialization more and more Labour Legislations were enacted and the Labour Commissionerate was entrusted with Herculean job for their enforcement.

    At present, the Labour Commissionerate of Assam is having altogether 130 nos. of Officers an 332 nos. of staff members, comprising both Head Office and its field offices and its prime responsibility is to implement about 26 nos. of Labour Legislations. Besides Head Office this Commissionerate has got 67 nos. of District, Sub-Division & Block Level Offices spreading all over Assam.